Miscellany, Moments

December 2016 favourites

A short and sweet wrap-up of my favourite parts of December 2016!

 

Thing we/I did

On a warm and overcast day at the end of the month, we spontaneously decided to head to the National Arboretum to explore areas of it that we hadn’t been to before. We visited the Himalayan Cedar Forest and walked amongst the shade of these beautiful trees, then veering off track to the areas of the Arboretum dedicated to silk trees and cork oaks. We found little caterpillars hanging by invisible threads in the forest, and a twig teepee made by a previous explorer. We then drove to the highest point of the Arboretum, to take in the view over north-east Canberra towards the Brindabellas, where a storm was starting to roll in and three wedge-tailed eagles were circling above the dry land. Just amazing.

Photo I took

watermarked-arboretum-tree

Cedar at the above-mentioned Arboretum. Cool huh?

Book I read

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – rated it 4 out of 5 on Goodreads, but in hindsight questioning if it was actually worth of a 5 out of 5. A very quick read, this is a book about families, books, obligations, desires, love, grief, and other stuff in between. It follows bookshop owner AJ Fikry over the course of many years (for such a small book it really packs it in), and although he can be grumpy and rude at times, you can’t help but be endeared to him. This one will put a smile on your face.

Memory or moment

Our New Years Eve celebrations. We had my sister, brother-in-law and niece over to our house for a bbq, and after the kids had gone to bed we settled in outside for drinking and chatting. We played “The Song Game”, which I made up. It was very simple – I give you a criteria for requesting a song for me to find and play from Spotify, and we take it in turns to request a song. Ie. “a song that takes you back to your childhood”, “a song from the favourite band you’ve seen play live”, etc. Super fun.

Pastime

Watching TV. I think it must have been the laziness of the holidays, but I definitely felt more drawn to doing this than anything else.

Thing I bought

I bought this wallet from Status Anxiety, which I had had my eye on for years, I don’t know why it took me so long –

watermarked-status-anxiety

 

Movie or TV show I watched

I’ve started The Crown on Netflix. Still only about halfway through, and although I take the accuracy of it all with a grain of salt, I still like to pretend that it is all real and I’m actually watching it unfold before me. I love royal family stuff.

Song or album I listened to

Revisiting some oldies lately – namely Lily Allen, Grinspoon, and Bush.

 

What was your month of December like? What were your favourite things?

Did you know you can follow me on Facebook and Twitter? I’d like to see you there 🙂

Standard

Leave a Comment

