Miscellany

Life overtaking life

Hands + Hustle - black water

Lately, there just seems to be no time. I can’t quite believe it’s August and I’ve been back at work for 3 months already.

I haven’t found the time to blog here as much lately as I have wanted to, although I have certainly had plenty of blogging ideas churning away so it’s not for lack of inspiration, just lack of being in a position to do something about it when the inspiration strikes.

Winter has been harsh this year, and for the most part we have tried to escape it whenever possible by hibernating. But it hasn’t escaped us. Like most families in Canberra at this time every year, we’ve been hit hard with various illnesses in our household. Poor Little R seems to have had a runny nose since about June, and his first few months in childcare have seen him pick up the obligatory smorgasbord of bugs. He’s had colds, a minor bout of conjunctivitis, and most recently a 24-hour tummy bug which he kindly shared with both his parents too (Moose managed to sidestep it somehow, although she did vomit on the bus on a school excursion in the same week, but I put that down to motion sickness). The rest of us have also each picked up a cold at some point this season.

We’ve had to cancel so many plans with friends and family over the past few months thanks to illness, as have others with us. It’s felt like we’ve been cut off from our circles, isolated out of necessity. The kids have been bored, I’ve run out of entertaining ideas, and nothing could be done about it.

Moose also had a run of back-to-back injuries at both preschool and childcare. Firstly, she tripped over her own feet while running on concrete, scratching the side of her face and biting the inside of her cheek. Then the next day, she had a slip on some play equipment and split her chin open, requiring a trip to the emergency room and thankfully no stitches, only glue.  For a while there, I was getting called from either preschool or childcare multiple times every week thanks to both illness and injury!

My return to work has condensed what little time is available for everything else that comes with running a household. We’re finding that by the time we leave work at the end of the day, pick up the kids, come home, make dinner, eat dinner, have baths and read stories, the kids are usually not getting to bed until 8.30pm. We have to get up at 6am in the mornings to allow enough time to get everyone ready and out the door on time, so most nights Big R and I have to choose between only having around an hour of free time to ourselves to relax and enjoy our own interests before it’s time for sleep, or staying up late so we get more time to ourselves and being exhausted the next day. It’s a tough call. That free time at night is also the only time I have available now to tend to things like emails, bills, the shopping list and ordering the groceries, exercising….sometimes I’ll go days without a shred of time to pause and take time for myself.  This might just be business as usual for some people, but not me. I crave solo time, I need it regularly to keep me energised and feeling positive.

Yes, winter has been harsh this year. The house has suffered. The garden has suffered. The dogs have suffered. The kids and Big R have suffered. My mind, body and soul have all suffered.

Like I said, there’s just not enough time. Lately I have felt like I am always racing, racing, and just hanging on by a bare thread. I feel like if I am late or something unexpected happens, this whole bundle I am precariously trying to balance will be knocked over and will flatten me. My whole outlook from the previous year of “slow, simple and mindful” has been left by the wayside.

What I wouldn’t give for some warming sunshine, a lengthy catch-up with friends, and an assured few hours of alone time every week!

 How are you feeling at this time of the year – restful and chilled or completely run ragged?

Linking up with IBOT at Essentially Jess and The Weekend Rewind with Maxabella Loves and friends

Standard

15 thoughts on “Life overtaking life

  1. I know how you feel. I’m definitely feeling worn out. We’ve all been sick here too and yes it’s hard to find time for much else when you’re working and have a family too. I hope you settle back into work well and I’ll send some warm weather from sunny Queensland your way 🙂 #teamIBOT

  2. Sorry to hear things have been hard and about the sickness and injuries. I’m in Qld and we haven’t had particularly cold weather this winter. A few nights have been chilly but I’m a little sad winter’s on its way out already!

  3. I feel your pain!! I know we are only half way through the year, but is it too early to say “Its been a horrible year”? Our family has had a shocking winter with various colds, flu, etc. This week our whole family has been sick. My eldest Popette has a tummy bug, Cherub has had high temps for the past 3 nights and Hubby & I have a sinus cold/virus. It seems to be one thing after another lately. I’m sick of cancelling plans with people. I’m hoping it will be warmer in Spring! 🙂

    • It’s like I’m looking (reading?) in a mirror Julie! No I don’t think it’s too early to make that call! Bring on the warm weather, and I hope your family enjoy an illness-free run soon.

  4. I am so with you! I feel exactly the same although I have not gone back to work. In fact, I dread the thought of ever going back to work because I just think my life balance would be non-existent. And that would be dangerous. If I fall down, the wheels would surely fall off this whole thing. It’s exhausting.

    I hope you get some sunshine and solitude soon. You deserve it!

    • Work definitely does take up a lot of hours! Unfortunately for our family it’s a necessity, but every day does feel like a race to get everything done. Bring on the sunshine!

  5. Run ragged, my friend, but possibly not quite so much as you. It’s tough being back at work and only having that small window of time to be together as a family. Winter is hard like that because it’s cold and dark and pretty miserable out there. Doesn’t do much to lift the spirits. But look at us, it’s the bloody 8th of AUGUST… how did that happen? Spring is just around the corner and I always find it lifts my spirits, refreshes our outlook and clears up all the lurgies. I hope this is true for your family too. x

    • Nuh-uh, I wouldn’t have complained if I’d read about your birthday events first! You deserve to complain about feeling rundown!
      Winter has been unforgiving this year. But you do make a good point – August?? I’m ready for a promising and energising spring!

  6. Time just seems to disappear lately!
    I feel it much more in Winter too, and even though it’s still nice here in Qld, it’s much colder than i would like.
    I love the longer days of Spring, and keep an eagle eye on the sunrise/sunset times.
    Hoping you’re all on the mend soon, Mrs. W xx

    • I don’t know what I’m doing with my days, I know I’m busy but don’t seem to have anything to show for it! I’m with you, I love spring! Thanks for visiting Lisa.

  7. Pingback: Geeking out – Winter 2015 |

Leave a Comment

