Miscellany

Geeking out – April and May 2015

Woohoo!  It’s (past) time again for me to talk about my favourite things!  It’s funny, how I seem to have trouble staying on track with these posts.  You’d think I’d be right on top of it, given that I love talking about books, TV and music so much.  I guess I’m having too much fun reading all the books, watching all the shows, and listening to all the music, it doesn’t leave much time for writing about it!

Here’s what I’ve been immersed in over the last two months-

Reading

When I last checked in, I was in the middle of reading The Magician King, Book 2 in The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman.  Oh, this book.  I’m just loving this series.  It’s fantastical, and suspenseful, and dark, and indulgent.  I’ve said it on previous occasions, but it’s grown-up Harry Potter and/or Chronicles of Narnia, in equal measure.  I think I enjoyed this book even more than the first.  And did you know they’re turning it into a TV series?  Check out the trailer and let me know what you think.  I think it makes a look a bit sexier and cool than it comes across in the books, but time will tell.

Next, I moved on to a classic which I embarrassingly hadn’t read until now.  I wouldn’t be surprised if you knew that a new Harper Lee novel was being released in a couple of months’ time, and that it’s causing quite the stir in the book world.  Well, I decided this was the push I needed to read To Kill A Mockingbird, as the new book, Go Set A Watchman, is the sequel to this well-loved story.  I wasn’t disappointed, it’s easy to see how this book won over so many hearts (and the Pulitzer).  As an Australian, born well after TKAM was released, the social and cultural issues of the time and place are not relatable for me, but of course I’m aware that blatant racial equality was all the norm in the Western world once (one could argue that to some extent, it still is), and this book presents that so well.  I had an immediate affection for Scout, Jem, and Atticus, and was surprised at how gripped I was during the courtroom scenes!  Apparently I find courtroom drama exciting?

I’ve just finished my last read for May, which was Evie Wyld’s All the Birds, Singing.  About a woman with a miserable past, experiencing what could easily be the symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder, living a new life of solitude in a desolate, wild place.  It sounds depressing, and it is, as well as being disturbing.  I don’t mind disturbing, and I was interested to find out what the book was building up to, but by the end I wasn’t so sure that it had been resolved for me.  There are so many questions left unanswered.  This one has a lot of rave reviews on Goodreads, but unfortunately, mine wasn’t one of them.

Most of the online reads I took note of lately seem to have a running theme to them…..

R is for Reading Nook inspiration – gorgeous children’s reading nook spaces.  In my dream house, there would be a dedicated reading room with a nook for me, and a nook for the kids!

This list of 100 Best Books of the Decade so far over at The Oyster Review is interesting, and certainly helped to beef up my TBR list even more.

And I just loved this post at trusty ol’ Book Riot – 12 Reasons We Love Bookish Reese Witherspoon.  I loved her anyway, and now I love her even more!

These 15 tips for starting a lifelong conversation about books are wonderful pointers for having meaningful discussions about books with your kids and hopefully instilling book-love which you can all enjoy together.  Magical.

Breaking the book theme, I also found 1 Simple Tip to Help You Stop Yelling via Picklebums’ Facebook page.  It really is a very simple tip, but so powerful.

Watching

There hasn’t been a lot of watching anything lately, thanks to Big R hogging the TV to play Destiny thanks to a new expansion being released.  But we are still slaves to Netflix, with Bloodline and The Returned both in progress.  I have also made a start on House of Cards and I’m really into it.  At first I found it quite hard to keep up with all the scheming and conniving, but I guess that’s just politics, right?  I still have to pause and rewind bits from time to time, but it’s just so great.  I think I want to be Clare Underwood when I grow up.  No spoilers please, I’m still only a few episodes in, but I can already tell she has her share of issues and they’ll be revealed soon enough.  Even so, she’s just so classy and…..established.  That’s not an accurate word to describe a person, but it feels like the right one to describe her.

My mother-in-law and I were also given free rein of the TV on Mothers Day (in our dressing gowns), and we chose to start with the new version of Upstairs Downstairs.  We got right into it, talking to the characters on screen and mimicking their posh British accents.  But it appears that Netflix only makes available the first few episodes of Season 1, and then it’s on to Season 2, and a lot of crucial stuff in the middle gets lost?  I haven’t moved past the first few episodes so I don’t really know, but mother-in-law wasn’t pleased, and I won’t be either if there are episodes missing!

And of course, Game of Thrones continues, and all I want is for Tyrion to meet Daenerys so they can combine their awesome powers and rule the world.

Listening

I haven’t been doing a lot of new listening lately, I seem to be more interested in listening to my podcast, ie. The Book Riot Podcast.  I always finish each week’s episode with either new books to add to my TBR list, or new bookish ideas I want to explore.  And Book Riot have a brand new podcast too, dedicated to new book releases, called All The Books. I’m sure I don’t need my TBR list to expand any further, but I’ll be listening in nonetheless.

But I’ve already covered books!  We’re talking about music now!  As far as music goes, I’ve been in a bit of a funk and just replaying my same old Spotify list over and over again.  One new listen for me is Purity Ring – crisp, clean, frosty Canadian electronic music.  Megan’s voice is so sweet, and any time I hear any of their stuff it makes me want to go outside in to the freezing wintery temps we’re having in Canberra right now, and just surround myself with the beauty of winter.  It also makes me want to drink icy cold apple cider.  I think because that’s what I was drinking when I first heard them.  Music – drink association!

 

So that’s me caught up for now!  What have you been reading/watching/listening to lately?

 How would you like to be my friend on Facebook?  We can talk about books, TV and music ALL THE TIME.

Playing along with The Weekend Rewind over at Maxabella Loves

Standard

4 thoughts on “Geeking out – April and May 2015

  1. I really want to get into the fantasy genre. Do you think this series is a good place to start? And TKAMB is still one of my all-time favourites. It’s a great story, but I loved the language best of all. Harper Lee is such a talent. x

    • Are you excited for Go Set A Watchman, Bron?
      I’d say if you liked Harry Potter and/or Narnia, then you’d enjoy The Magicians. I haven’t read fantasy too widely, but another favourite is the Song of Ice & Fire series. If you can get past the frustration of the first 200 pages of the first book, where you are introduced to about 437 characters all at once. It’s worth pushing past that!

Leave a Comment

