Miscellany

On new years and intentions

2014 is almost done, and I feel a little sad to put this year behind me. It’s just been wonderful. There has been stress, and rough patches, but ultimately I think it’s been one of my best years ever. And I think it has a lot to do with the intention I set for myself.

For the past few years, I have not only thought about specific things I want to achieve over the coming 12 months, but I have also set an overarching intention for the year ahead. One word to encompass what I am aiming for, and to guide me in making choices. I first came across this idea at Maxabella’s, and I’ve found it really works for me.

2013’s intention was to quit smoking once and for all, as I had reached the age of 30 and by then had been smoking for almost half my life.  And I’m proud to say I achieved that goal – 659 days and going strong!

For 2014, I wanted simplicity, after what felt like a few years of whirlwind-like activity, breathlessly zapping about from one thing to the next, picking up more and more “debris” as I went, and culminating with moving in to our house and giving birth to Little R within the space of a couple of weeks.

I have most certainly attained simplicity this year. Whenever some new challenge had reared its head, I would consider it, and then remember my promise to myself of simplicity, and turn it away if I didn’t feel it was essential. Being on maternity leave has been a gift, and I chose instead to focus my precious time on my children, my house, and the creative hobbies that interest and nourish me. I have found in the past that I take a long time to cool back down to a relaxed state after a time of busyness and heavy stress, and it has taken me 6 months since finishing work, obligations, and big life changes to feel like I’ve fully recovered.

Now that we’re about to head in to a new year, when Moose will start preschool and I will inevitably go back to work, I don’t want to lose what I’ve gained in 2014. It will be a challenge to figure out how we fit everything in once we are all out of the house and in to the world on most days. I want to remember to keep things simple for all of us, so we give ourselves the best chance of staying connected to each other, relaxed and fulfilled. For 2015 my intention is to maintain this simple state.  I want to keep life uncluttered of obligation and frenzy, in order to preserve our quality time together, doing the things we love to do and spending time with one another.  It will be more important than ever.

Do you set resolutions or intentions for the year ahead?  If so, what’s yours?

Wishing you a fun, memorable New Year, full of promise for a wonderful 2015.

Standard

30 thoughts on “On new years and intentions

  1. Good luck with sending your little one of to preschool and returning to work. 2014 sounds like it was a wonderful year for you. Hopefully 2015 will be even better. My word for 2015 is leap. Leaping into the dreams I have been pondering for so long now. Hopefully it is my year.

  2. Its great that 2014 was the year you wanted. Simplicity is a wonderful word and reminder that we could all do with some simplicity! I hope that you are able to maintain this in 2015. I haven’t made resolutions this year. Just jotted down a few goals that I am striving for. Happy New Year x

    • I think that’s better- just a few key things you’d like to achieve, that way you’re not setting yourself up for disappointment! Best wishes to you for 2015 Fleur!

  3. Fantastic work on your last two years of goals, such a great way to care for yourself! I have no doubt that you’ll fulfil your 2015 – maintain goals!

  4. Like you, choosing that one guiding word has impacted my year in such a wonderful way. I love simplicity; and your intention for it to maintain. This year will be a big one for me too – I’ve chosen joy as my word xx

    • It feels much more helpful to have one word to guide you overall, rather than a list of things you’d like to get done, in my opinion! Hoping you find your joy in 2015.

    • Thanks Malinda, I really think it helps to focus on that one guiding intention through the year, rather than many specific resolutions. All the best for 2015!

Leave a Comment

