Miscellany

Read, watch, listen – August 2014

Here’s what I’ve been getting in to this month:

Read:

Offline:

I’m slowly re-reading The Chronicles of Narnia, my childhood favourite.  I’ve read the first three books so far but have found I need a break in between books.  Not because there’s any issue with the stories themselves, but because my copy of the complete Chronicles is a really large, heavy hardcover, and I get tired of holding the damn thing!  I’m up to Prince Caspian next (book 4).  I think I’ll enjoy books 3 through 7 much more than books 1 and 2.  I haven’t read the later stories as many times as I have the first two, and it’s been so long, I can’t remember the finer details, so there’s still the element of surprise even in the re-reading!

Breaking up my Narnia extravaganza, I’ve also read The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do.  I wasn’t a huge Anh Do fan but was keen to find out what the hype was about with this book (years after its release, mind you.  Slow and steady wins the race).  I’m happy I read it, and I have to say, I have a new appreciation for the man now.  I was a little disappointed that the portion of the book looking at his early life in Vietnam and his dangerous journey to Australia was over so quickly, but in his defence, he left Vietnam as a toddler and the journey to this country only lasted a few days, so how much can you stretch that out I guess?  I fell in love with the “characters” in this book – his mother, his brother, his wife, and of course Anh himself.  Give it a read.

I also just finished The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (just now, this morning).  Another book that I had to read to find out what the fuss was about.  I’m a little ashamed to say that I didn’t cry – does that make me a bad person?!  Everyone told me I would.  Maybe because I felt like the main character – Hazel – preferred not to look at her life and those in it with that cheesy, cliched emotion that most people tag on to cancer or dying in general.  She was logical, and humorous, most of the time anyway.  Sure, it was sad, but I didn’t feel like the author was trying to make me cry, I didn’t feel compelled to.  I felt like maybe it was more of a celebration, or an education, for those of us unaffected by illness.  This book definitely made me ponder.  A worthwhile read.

Online:

I’ve been hungrily eating up every post on Book Riot lately.  Reading about reading?  Why that’s one of my favourite things!  I’ve already added a good number of titles to my TBR (to-be-read) list from reading their posts, particularly their regular series on soon-to-be-released titles.  Actually maybe that’s not such a good thing, I think my TBR is over 100 books now!

Watch:

I’m still making my way through Sons of Anarchy in a race to be up to speed by the time the next and final season begins early next month.  I have one and a half seasons to go, I reckon I’ll be through that in about a week or so.  This show is absolutely killing me.  In Game-of-Thrones style, why do they keep killing off the good ones and having things happen that make me sad and angry?!  That MC may as well set up camp at the local hospital, they seem to be stalking the hallways every other day!  And if I had a dollar for every time I’d heard Jax Teller say “Jesus Christ” when he learns of yet another drama that he has to deal with, I could afford a Harley myself.  God I love this show!

Big R and I started watching Orange Is The New Black on the recommendation of a few friends.  I knew I’d like it as soon as I saw Jenji Kohan’s name attached to it.  I love it’s quirkiness and am keen to watch beyond the first few episodes, although Big R isn’t as keen.  I think he was hoping for something a bit darker, and more realistic.  Maybe we need to catch up with Season 2 of Wentworth, that should satisfy that need.

We’ve also just watched the first episode of Outlander, the new series based on the Outlander novels by Diana Gabaldon.  I have the first five books of the series but have only read the first book, probably about 10 years ago.  I loved it then, but I think it was the size of the books and the small print that scared me off, it was just taking me too long to read.  I’m a bit more relaxed about reading massive tomes nowadays and less scared of the commitment, so I’m going to begin reading the series again very soon.  The first episode of the TV show was visually very true to how I had pictured the landscapes and the characters (including Jamie, phwoar!), although it was a little slow and I found the narration by Claire, the main female lead, to slow it down and be cheesy at times.  We’ll stick with it though!

Listen:

I’ve been listening to a bit of Tenacious D lately, as well as Lana Del Rey, and CHVRCHES.  You have to be in very different moods for each of these!  As far as singles go, I’m also loving “Fur Eyes” by Violent Soho, “Dear Diary” by Darlia, and “I’m Not Coming Back” by Husky.

On my “listen-to-more-of” list – Snakadaktal and Amity Affliction.  With the announcement of the Soundwave 2015 lineup today, it’s also got me in the mood to relive a bit of Soundgarden and become more acquainted with Slipknot.  I’ll be interested to see who else is added to the existing list!  I wonder if there’ll be any more 90’s power acts tagged on, it’s looking good so far.

What have you been reading/watching/listening to lately?  Do we have the same tastes?

Linking up with The Weekend Rewind at Maxabella Loves.  Check it out for some great weekend reading.

Also linking up with Reading Writes: Chapter One at Kylie Purtell, where bloggers are sharing what they’ve been reading.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Read, watch, listen – August 2014

  1. i’ve read 2 palahniuk books that still didn’t read before, after a 3 year stop of reading books (i know, i’ve not shame!!! but i read a lot of magazines!!!!), no tv, so no series… and listening to “oscar and the wolf” mainly

  2. Sorry you were disappointed with Fault in Our Stars. I loved it, but I must admit it is unusual for me to love a book that has so much hype surrounding it as they don’t often live up to expectations!

    • Maybe I wasn’t feeling very impressed when I wrote this post – I actually liked it! I felt bad because it didn’t make me bawl like I was told it would. I must be made of stone, haha. You’re right, hype can confuse things!

Leave a Comment

